Getting Started

At the basic level, uSync 'just works' out of the box.

First Run

The first time you run your Umbraco site after installing uSync. uSync will perform an export of your settings from the site.

uSync will export:

  • Document Types
  • Data Types
  • Media Types
  • Templates
  • Macros
  • Languages
  • Dictionary Items
  • Member Types (disabled by default)

the export will be placed in the uSync/data folder within your Umbraco site.

Export On Save / Delete

Once uSync is running it will listen for events related to saving or deleting of items within Umbraco.

Every time you save and item uSync will write out an export file for the item in the uSync/data folder.

When you delete an item - an entry is made into the uSyncActions.config file that tracks deletes. This file is used during an import, to process the delete on other Umbraco instances.

Import On Startup

By default, uSync will run an import every time your Umbraco site starts (or the application pool refreshes).

During an import uSync looks at the files in the uSync/data folder and compares them with the items within the Umbraco site.

If there are any differences then uSync applies the values from disk to Umbraco, so this way things are kept in sync.

uSync Dashboard

The uSync dashboard gives you a place to see what uSync is doing, run manual imports or exports and check settings.

uSync Dashboard

The dashboard is located in the developer section of Umbraco.